The New Term Starts with Titles from the Costa Book Awards


This most prestigious and popular of the literary prizes recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. Formerly The Whitbread Literary Awards, Costa took over ownership in 2006. The total prize fund is £55,000. Each of the category winners receives £5,000 and the overall winner receives a further £30,000. It’s not just about the prize money. Just being short listed hugely increases sales.  

It’s unique for having five categories: First NovelNovel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book.

This Year Features a number of  ‘Firsts’

  • The first time a female winner has featured in each category
  • The first time a graphic novel has won any of the awards
  • The first time a writer has won both the Booker and the Costa prize in the same  year           



About libmill2012

Senior SchoolTutor Librarian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.